These Are the Artists in the 2024 Whitney Biennial

The Whitney Museum of American Art in New York has released the list of artists in the 81st edition of the Whitney Biennial, opening to the public on March 20. Even Better Than the Real Thing, co-organized by Meg Onli and Chrissie Iles, will feature 69 artists and two collectives, listed at the end of this article.

The 2024 iteration, comprised of varying creators with diverse skillsets and perspectives as a nod to what participating artist Ligia Lewis called a “dissonant chorus,” presents a selection of work addressing themes such as defining reality in a realm overtaken by artificial intelligence, body and identity, history and contemporaneity, and land stewardship in the face of irreparable climate change.

“We have made an exhibition that unfolds as a set of relations, exploring the challenges of coming together in a fractured moment,” Onli and Iles explained in a statement. The 2024 Biennial includes work by five artists under the age of 30, and over half of the participants identify as women.

Historically, the Whitney Biennial has been an exhibition that draws controversy. In 2014, the Yams Collective dropped out of the Biennial over the inclusion of White artist Joe Scanlon’s “Donelle Woolford” (2005–) project, in which Scanlon impersonated a Black woman, and the boat rocked again during the 2017 Biennial over the display of painter Dana Schutz’s “Open Casket” (2016), her interpretation of the widely publicized photo of Emmett Till’s mutilated body that spawned outrage and protests. During the 2019 Biennial, various artists moved to withdraw their work in protest of the museum’s since-resigned vice chairman Warren Kanders, whose weapons manufacturing companies were tied to various instances of police violence around the world, as Hyperallergic first reported in 2018.

A complete list of the 2024 Whitney Biennial’s participants, including artists in the upcoming edition’s exhibition, film, and performance programs, is below.

  • Eddie Rodolfo Aparicio
  • Dora Budor
  • Seba Calfuqueo
  • Demian DinéYazhi’
  • Torkwase Dyson
  • JJJJJerome Ellis
  • Jes Fan
  • Nikita Gale
  • ektor garcia
  • Pippa Garner
  • Harmony Hammond
  • Sharon Hayes
  • Holly Herndon and Mat Dryhurst
  • Madeleine Hunt-Ehrlich
  • Suzanne Jackson
  • Isaac Julien
  • Lotus L. Kang
  • Mary Kelly
  • Carolyn Lazard
  • Dionne Lee
  • Ligia Lewis
  • Mary Lovelace O’Neal
  • Cannupa Hanska Luger
  • K.R.M. Mooney
  • Dala Nasser
  • Diane Severin Nguyen
  • Karyn Olivier
  • B. Ingrid Olson
  • Eamon Ore-Giron
  • People Who Stutter Create (Jia Bin, Delicia Daniels, JJJJJerome Ellis, Conor Foran, Kristel Kubart)
  • Julia Phillips
  • Mavis Pusey
  • Maja Ruznic
  • Ser Serpas
  • Rose B. Simpson
  • P. Staff
  • Clarissa Tossin
  • Tourmaline
  • Charisse Pearlina Watson
  • Kiyan Williams
  • Carmen Winant
  • Takako Yamaguchi
  • Constantina Zavitsanos

Film Program Artists

  • Siku Allooloo
  • Seba Calfuqueo
  • Christopher Harris
  • Miranda Haymon
  • Ho Tzu Nyen
  • Yasmine Anlan Huang
  • Madeleine Hunt-Ehrlich
  • Aron Kantor
  • Kite
  • Gbenga Komolafe and Tee Park
  • Jenni Laiti
  • Shuang Li
  • Simon Liu
  • Nyala Moon
  • Niillasaš-Jovnna Máreha Juhani Sunná Máret – Sunna Nousuniemi
  • Edward Owens
  • Sydney Frances Pascal
  • Raqs Media Collective (Jeebesh Bachi, Monica Narula, Shuddhabrata Sengupta)
  • Riar Rizaldi
  • Penelope Spheeris
  • Lada Suomenrinne
  • Alisi Telengut
  • Chanelle Tyson
  • Zula Urchuud

Performance Program Artists

  • Holland Andrews
  • Debit
  • JJJJJerome Ellis
  • Sarah Hennies
  • Alex Tatarsky

Source link

About The Author

Scroll to Top